Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Ubuntu based Mint 9 possible bugs

Vandal
Vandal Posts: 17

Hi All,

I am totally new to Linux, after a long time with windows and like 2-3 years with Mac OS... and I have to say that I like the idea of open source that I am starting to care to participate after 10 days.

I used Mint 9 as the first thing I found on the list and it was new release, and the voting was good almost like the Ubuntu, and this is why I chose it.

I then heard that Ubuntu is much better and I have to use it and not to waste my time on the Mint.

Anyway, trying to download the Ubuntu on Mint using torrents (transmission and vuse) was not working, direct downloading from mirrors did not work, I had to download it at the end at my office using Windows, and I did...

I don't know, should I doubt my internet connection at home? I have downloaded Mind and Debian before using XP.

Should I doubt Mint?

Did anyone face a similar thing?

Any sort of advice to keep Mint or to move to Ubuntu?

Comments

• Jinux
    Jinux Posts: 20
    Mint is based on Ubuntu and is far superior. Ubuntu has so many little niggles that the Clem and his team work hard to sort out. If Ubuntu is the rock, Mint is the diamond!

With regards to your internet, browsing works I take it? What actually happens when downloading the ISO "doesn't work"? It could be any number of issues.
  • Vandal
    Well what happened and made me think it's download was to complete the download then write the iso to the CD using Mint, but when I load the CD after that, the CD icon disappears, and it's not reading the CD, I tried to boot from the CD and I could not (This happened in both cased CD and DVD), then the last time it happened to download only 540 Mb out of 680 Mb with no error messages from firefox... I wrote this file to the CD and I could browse the CD, and saw the files but when I tried to boot it did not work...