Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Driver for Broadcom not activating! Help!

I just installed Ubuntu 10.04 on my HP Pavillion Laptop. So far, everything is going great, except that I am unable to access my wireless network via my wireless card. Whenever the Hardware Drivers notifies me that my wireless card needs activated, I get this error message:

Failed to fetch cdrom:[Ubuntu 10.04 LTS _Lucid Lynx_ - Release i386 (20100429)]/pool/main/p/patch/patch_2.6-2ubuntu1_i386.deb File not found

I have a Broadcom STA wireless driver.

What do I do to activate the driver? Is there a patch or download available? Will I need to use code? If so, how do I do that? I am still new at this and am eager for my wireless to work. Any help is appreciated!

Comments

• Goineasy9
    Goineasy9 Posts: 1,114
    Installing the driver should be enough, I don't understand it needing to be activated, unless it's some kind of a broadband 3g card, which I'm guessing it isn't. Can you go to terminal and let us know the output of lspci?

Try:
    lspci | grep -i wire or
    lspci | grep -i wifi

and see if you get a response from either of those, if not just past the result of lspci.
    Since it's Ubuntu, I'm not sure if you need raised permissions to execute those commands. If you get an error precede the command with sudo, i.e.,

sudo lspci | grep -i wire.

Any questions, post back.
  • mfillpot
    mfillpot Posts: 2,177
    It looks like the program was attempting to pull the driver file from your cdrom, I recommend putting the cdrom into the computer and updating your sources list prior to trying to activate the driver.
  • Put the CDROM in, hoping that would get me somewhere...guess not. Sources told me I need a working connection to the internet, so I'm gonna try a wired connection to the internet and see if I can get it there. Thanks!
  • Tried both, and the only response I got was from lspci grep -i wire