Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

add program i made to cmdline

Hi ( im a beginning programmer), I always found myself trying to figure out what percent a number is of another number, and rather then using a program online to always do this calculation for me i wrote a simple program in c. I want to make it so i can access this program from the command line, for example:

jacob@jacob-laptop:~$ percent 55 390

where its:

command arg1 arg2 :: where arg1 is the number to be found the percent of the number (arg2)

then I want the program to display the answer.

if this is not possible without changing a whole bunch of code then I would also be happy if i could invoke the program from the command line, for example:

jacob@jacob-laptop:~$ percent

and then the percent program will run its course then return to the command line.

any suggestions? Heres the code for my program:

#include

main() {

float answer, FACTOR, get1, get2;

FACTOR = 100;

printf("\n\n\n");

printf("What percent is a number of a number?\n\n");

printf("What is __ percent of?\n");

printf("Please enter number:\n");

scanf(" %f", &get1 );

printf("\n");

printf("this number?\n");

printf("Please enter number:\n");

scanf(" %f", &get2 );

answer = (get1/get2) * FACTOR;

printf("\n");

printf("%3.2f is %3.2f percent of %3.2f\n\n\n", get1, answer, get2);

}

if you need me to clarify anything just post, i will include the source in an attached file as well.

Comments

• mfillpot
    mfillpot Posts: 2,177
    Writing an actually binary file seems excessive when trying to access common functionality. Have you considered writing a python or bash script instead or even just using the python terminal for calculations?
  • Yeah, i will try python or bash script. I'm not very good at bash scripting though ( could you point me toward some good tutorials? ). I just started learning c, basically i was just wondering if its possible. The only way I found I can invoke the program is ./percent.out