Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Need help removing nvidia driver

Today I decided to install a nvidia driver for my 32-bit fedora 11 machine, graphics card (fx5200). Everything went well until I rebooted and found out I installed the wrong driver. I tried to install the correct driver using yum but that conflicted with the existing driver installed. Is there a simple way just to revert to the nouveau driver?

Comments

• Goineasy9
    Goineasy9 Posts: 1,114
    Actually it's not that simple, but is pretty easy. Question is, how did you install the drivers to start out with. If you installed them from the nVidia site, reverting back to nouveau is a bit harder than if you installed them from the rpmfusion repo. So, ... how did you install the drivers.
  • I ran "yum install kmod-nvidia", I don't know if that accesses the rpmfusion repo. I'm still learning linux.
  • Goineasy9
    Hi, well, if you do in a terminal:

su -c "yum remove kmod-nvidia"

that's a start. Installing that driver also blacklisted nouveau so you have to:

su -c "rm /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist-nouveau.conf"

then,

su -c "rm /etc/X11/xorg*"

to remove the xorg.conf file and other remnants of the nvidia setup.

Then all you have to do as reboot and you should be back into nouveau.

You can copy and paste those lines into your terminal, but if you decide to just type them out, just make sure that X11 is a capital "X", everybody makes that mistake.

BTW - if you decide to reinstall nVidia drivers, ask and we'll tell you the steps you need to do it successfully. It takes more than just installing kmod-nvidia, because Fedora ties it's kernel so close to the nouveau drivers.

Any questions, just post back, especially if your uncertain about anything. Also, you should type and execute all commands before rebooting, or else you'll get a black screen.
  • Ok thanks for all of the help! I should have also mentioned due to the incorrect driver installed the GUI on Fedora fails to load.