Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Yaml file issue in CKAD lab 3.3

myousufm
myousufm Posts: 12
edited October 2021 in LFD259 Class Forum

Hello All,

Can anyone let me know if someone reached past the Lab Exercise 3.3. I am having having an issue with the YAML file. I have created file similar to what is mentioned in the course but while while using kubectl create -f myapp.yaml it gives below error

"error: error parsing myapp.yaml: error converting YAML to JSON: yaml: line 44: did not find expected key.

This may be very well a small thing to get sorted out but excuse my little experience with kubernetes as i am totally new to kubernetes. Any help would be much appreciate.

Thank You,

Answers

• serewicz
    serewicz Posts: 1,000

Hello,

When you say you created something similar, perhaps you have a white space issue, or other typo. In this particular case I am not aware of using a myapp.yaml file in Exercise 3.3. I assume you are trying to reproduce the simpleapp.yaml. Did you diff the two files to see how they are different?

Perhaps use a YAML checker to see where the whitespace issue may be. You can use this site json2yaml.com/ and edit the YAML to see what happens.

Regards,

• Hi Serewicz,

Yes that's simpleapp I am referring to. I just had changed the name of the app and did check in https://codebeautify.org/yaml-validator showed me some whitespace, even after changing it i was not able to get that app working. I will check in json2yaml.com now and see.

• I did check the same code in json2yaml.com and It gave me below error "x Did not find expected key while parsing a block mapping at line 27 column 5". I had never touched line 27

• I checked in Microsoft vs code it gives me below errors only for one line and which is
    - name: goproxy

the errors are

{
    "resource": "/D:/studies/ckad/yousufapp.yaml",
    "owner": "generated_diagnostic_collection_name#2",
    "severity": 8,