Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Recently download Ubuntu...

And I'm a little new to linux, so yeah.

But I installed it and everything was fine until I tried to use the internet.

Somehow, I can't find how to connect with wireless? I'm using Ubuntu 8.04 btw.

But I'm only allowed to connect with Wired Connections, and some other connection?

I've been googling for hours but can't find a solution.

Thanks to anyone who helps me!

Comments

• Goineasy9
    Goineasy9 Posts: 1,114
    Knowing a little more about what hardware your using would help. What type of computer, desktop or laptop, if you unfamiliar with what cpu etc., tell us a brand and model number. Also, in a terminal, can you copy and paste the output from lspci so we can see what type of wireless device the computer has.
    At a prompt when the terminal opens, just type "lspci" (without the quotes), hit enter and then copy and paste the result here.
  • I'm using a Toshiba Satellite L300D
    and the Model Number is: PSLC0E-017017EN

This is what comes up when i type lspci into the terminal:
    00:00.0 Host bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS690 Host Bridge
    00:01.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS690 PCI to PCI Bridge (Internal gfx)
    00:04.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc Unknown device 7914
    00:05.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS690 PCI to PCI Bridge (PCI Express Port 1)
    00:12.0 SATA controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 Non-Raid-5 SATA
    00:13.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 USB (OHCI0)
    00:13.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 USB (OHCI1)
    00:13.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 USB (OHCI2)
    00:13.3 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 USB (OHCI3)
    00:13.4 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 USB (OHCI4)
    00:13.5 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 USB Controller (EHCI)
    00:14.0 SMBus: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 SMBus Controller (rev 14)
    00:14.1 IDE interface: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 IDE