Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

New to Cloud Engineer Bootcamp

Hi All,

Hope Everyone is safe and healthy.
This is Amiya from Australia. I am very new to this Bootcamp and to also to this Linux world.
Would anybody tell me, do I need to finish LFS101X on edx first and start LFS201 from the curriculum or how to approach it.

Do I have to finish the course in 6 months or I can study in my own pace and complete it in 12 months of time?

What are the setups needed for this Bootcamp? I have already installed Ubuntu 20.04 LTS in VM. Amazon free tier is up.
Any way to go through the earlier Zoom sessions/Class recordings.

Please clarify

Comments

• luisviveropena
    luisviveropena Posts: 1,142

Hi Amiya,

If you are new to Linux, I recommend finishing LFS101x before going into LFS201, because there are some details you need to manage first, it's all the basic stuff that we don't see on LFS201.

What are the setups needed for this Bootcamp? I have already installed Ubuntu 20.04 LTS in VM. Amazon free tier is up.

For the most of the labs, a vm in the cloud will be ok. For some few exercises you will need a local vm, so you can edit the boot line, for example.

Any way to go through the earlier Zoom sessions/Class recordings.

Nope, by our policy they are stored for one day only.

Many regards,
    Luis.

• Thanks Luis, appreciate a lot for ur quick response. And what about the timeline to finish the course, 6 or 12 months?
    Many thanks...

• fcioanca
    fcioanca Posts: 1,886

You have 12 months to finish the bootcamp (courses and exams). Also, one other thing to mention - if you are using a cloud provider, for most courses the free tier will be ok, but not for all - one such example is LFS258 - Kubernetes Fundamentals.

• Thnaks fcioanca for the clarification. One more queries please, I have got the scheduling instruction mail but there is no option available to schedule the exam in my portal section. Shall I get a separate link to schedule the same?