Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Having trouble installing Linux Mint via USB

1BirthdayGreetings
edited January 2017 in New to Linux

Hi Linux.com,

So I've been having trouble installing Linux Mint via USB due to the fact that it wouldn't boot up, even after I've followed all the steps. I found that I had a UEFI/EFI called Toshiba Setup Utility, and it has a low amount of options that I can actually change. Whenever I changed it to CSM mode, it wouldn't boot either, and would act as though nothing was on the drive or the USB.

When I visit my website to use linux the i face this problem.

Is there a way to install Linux with this EFI?

Comments

• Hi I'm a novice but have just built a Linuxmint Cinnamon USB bootable flash drive, took me two goes to get it right, (didn't make the flash drive persistant)

1 use a large miniature fast flash drive (sandisc 64gb 130mbs from Argos about 23.00 pounds. (small so it doesen't stick out and break)

2 Download the linuxmint iso file (about 1.7gb)

3 download the free "linuxlive USB Creator then run it. www.linuxliveusb.com/en/home

4 plug your flash drive in

5 the program is self explaitary but the web page gives great instructions. there are 5 sections, one of them asks for the size of persistence partition you require, it's a slider, set it to full 4gb this is required so you are able to set preferences like desktop  background image, WiFi passwords, choose to show the date etc. if you don't do this then every time you switch of you will lose the settings and have to do it all again.

6 the last section askes if you want to format the flash drive, 'DEF yes' do you want to  hide files on the bootable usb, it doesn't matter, your also asked if you would like to boot from windows, I didn't

7 press go, takes about 10 mins and it's done