Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

I'm a starting from scratch newbie.

I just got started using the Linux distro Ubuntu around the new year. I've only used Ubuntu 14.04 on an old Dell desk top that just gave up the ghost this morning. I'm thinking about building a Linux desktop and don't know where to start. This is what I want to do with my new rig but I'm open to sugestions.

What I like on Ubuntu: Firefox, Amarok music player, GameBoy Advance and Nintendo DS emulation(Retroarch), LibreOffice Writer.

What I need the computer for: Photo and music Archives and music player(an easy to use file system/mananger for those archives), no lag Gameboy Advance and DS emulation(it's for a project and I will have no other gaming needs on the computer), word processing, web browsing. Future needs will be lite video editing tools for short low production Youtube styled videos.

Any advice on where to start would be helpful.

Thanks

Mr Amissus

Comments

• saqman2060
    saqman2060 Posts: 777

I like that you know what you want. Your system will work as intended. First, look into CPUs and graphic cards that can handle multitasking, video editing and gameplay. Ubuntu has been used on a lot of AMD platforms, but Linux supports Intel and Nvidia. Most modern Computers will run Linux, but homework still needs to be done.

When building a custom PC, always check the hardware specs for the operating system in question. Linux has a hardware capability list. Ubuntu has its own recommended spec list, https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Installation/SystemRequirements

Ubuntu has an app for all on your list accept for the game advanced and the Nintendo emulator. Never used a console emulator on a PC

• Saqman2060,