Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Choosing Linux

Hello all I am looking for some insight and help in this matter. I have been playing around with Linux in various flavors for a few years off and on, mostly Ubuntu based ones. With the recent issues with Windows 10 and its data unsecurity and pretty much open spying I am on the fence about moving to a new OS. I've downloaded and installed a few different versions onto my laptop and I have to say that I can not find a home in any of these. I have used Windows for many years, started on version 3.0 and have used every version since. Windows just works and has any software needed for any situation, however im not inclined to share my life with the world. I have tried Ubuntu 14.04 LTS, Mint 17.3, Elementary OS Freya, Zorin 11, Pinguy 15.xx just to name a few and all just fall short of the experience. The fonts are not as sharp or clean as Windows is, the interface is just lacking to me and doing simple things seems overly complicatied. Ive use pc's for over 20 years and I couldnt even find out what CPU I had, and finding anything on the hard drive, good night. 

Also installing software is a bit on the snippy side. it seems if its something that is in the OS's default PPA its not too bad but if that or any other PPA isnt maintained perfectly, things start breaking fast. It took me over 30 minutes to install Chrome on Elementary OS, kept getting a 32 bit deb error, thing is i was trying to install a 64 bit version of chrome on a 64 bit versions of E-OS. Ended up finding the .deb file from a google search. Also my laptop has a Nvidia nvs 160 GPU in it, that for some reason when I installed the closed drivers from Nvidia causes E-OS to crap its self and die. Constant freezing and force rebooting. I tried Ubuntu but that damn Unity runs like crap and I hate it, Cant find a damn thing in there.