Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

No internet and unable to mount CD on Arch Linux inside VirtualBox

Hello to all who read!

Hopefully, I'm posting this in the right forum.

I'm new to Arch Linux and I just installed it, but I want to give it a try.

For some reason, I can't connect to the internet (I guess missing drivers), and then when I try to install Vbox guest additions, I can't mount the CD.

Any thoughts?

Thanks to all posts!

Comments

• mfillpot
    mfillpot Posts: 2,177
    Have you tried to mount the cd image using the mount command?
  • Yep, I tried "mount /dev/sr0 /mnt/cd" and I get a message saying "Invalid device"
  • Ok, I found a way to install additions, but device "eth0" is still not found by "ifconfig"
  • mfillpot
    it is good to see that you got the additions installed.

Have you confirmed that have a valid netork adapter set for the virtual machine and that the mode can talk to your router?
    Also, have you tried running "ifconfig -a" to see all of your available adapter to confirm if the adapter is even seen?
  • The adapter is being seen, but still no connection
  • mfillpot
    It sounds like the virtual machine is unable to obtain a dhcp lease address, which is most likely due to the wron network type configured for the virtual machine.

Can you tell me network type is used the the adapter in the Vmware client configuration?

using the bridged adapter type the virtual machine acts as though it is another computer connected to you local network, so it will request a dhcp address from the router.
  • Sorry for the delay, but I have already resolved this issue (I ran "dhcpcd")
    Thanks anyway for the help!
  • Hi Folks Sorry to intrude on you discusion. I have tried to start a new one but for some reason cannot type in the boxes from the new topic box.
    Please point me the right direction to get the following solved.
    My question is: