Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Mastering the Linux for a complete newbie in Linux

Hi All, this question is from a complete Linux noob here. I am at the end of LFS101x from edx and about to start my LFS201. The problem I am facing is, I keep on forgetting the Shell commands. I am always doing practice with the readings form Edx, however, it's not in my memory after 2/3 days. Anyone has faced this situation before. Please could anyone share their way of mastering the Linux? In my office, I use Windows for my day to day work and there is no chance of using Linux for the same.

I have another question here, what all other resources( Any good books/online reference source/good YT videos/blogs) you guys are following other than our LF resources.

I will be waiting for your input/suggestion/guidance.

Thanks for your time reading this.

Comments

• serewicz
    serewicz Posts: 1,000

Hello,

Learning the commands is similar to learning a new language. The more you use the words, the better chance you remember them. In my opinion the best way is to use the command line and search man pages for commands as necessary. It will be slow and a hassle, but is probably the best way to retain the knowledge. I would not worry about arguments and options, those change enough it's better to look up anyway.