Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

RE: Adding a New Service With Systemd/Hello

Hello,

[Unit]
Description=fake2
After=network.target

[Service]
ExecStart=/bin/echo I am starting the fake2 service
ExecStop=/bin/echo I am stopping the fake2 service

[Install]
WantedBy=multi-user.target

This is my fake2.service script from the instructions. I tried to add the service and monitor the service but I cannot find out specific things.

I changed my system a while back for other book purposes. I think this may hinder what I am trying with this instruction from the Linux Foundation.

Anyway,

I have been unable to start, status, and stop the service.

If you need any info. from me, please let me know. It usually prompts me stating unable to resolve host.

Seth

P.S. Please get back to me when anyone out there has time. 4.2 is the Systemd Service section I am reviewing for now.


Welcome!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.
Sign In

Comments

  • Posts: 5
    edited April 2017

    Hello,

    my fake2.service at exercise 4.2 looks like the below:

    ----------------------------

    [Unit]

    Description=fake2

    After=network.target

    [Service]

    ExecStart=/bin/sh -c ’/bin/echo I am starting the fake2 service ; /bin/sleep 30’

    ExecStop=/bin/echo I am stopping the fake2 service

    [Install]

    WantedBy=multi-user.target

    -------------------------------------

    If you get any error when you start the service(sudo systemctl start fake2.service), try to change the 

    ExecStart=/bin/sh -c ’/bin/echo I am starting the fake2 service ; /bin/sleep 30’  

    to 

    ExecStart=/bin/sh -c "/bin/echo I am starting the fake2 service ; /bin/sleep 30"


     


    Regards,


    zoomm10

  • Posts: 916
    edited April 2017

    you don't give enough detail to provide much help.  What commands did you run?  Where did you look to see if it ran?  What output do you have?  Also note the script in the solutions is not the same; the ExecStart line looks like:

    ExecStart=/bin/sh -c '/bin/echo I am starting the fake2 service ; /bin/sleep 30'

     

    be careful cutting and pasting because the apostrophes don't always come through correctly.

     

  • Posts: 1,276
    edited April 2017

    Hi,

    What distro and version are you working with?

    Are you getting any specific error?

    Thanks,

    Luis.

  • Posts: 29
    edited April 2017

    Hello Again...I am sorry for the lack of info. I am running Ubuntu 16.04.2/4.4.0-72-generic. It is the LTS version. I will run it again and let you know. Please bear with me here. I will be right back!

     

  • Posts: 29
    edited April 2017

    I used the sudo chmod 755 ​command in the shell to attempt to get the fake2.service going. It worked, but it was saying it could not resolve host, well after I disregarded the prompt of ​sudo: could not resolve host (my host name). I then went on to ​sudo systemctl start fake2.service​. The could not resolve host prompt (error message) was stated again when I used the command ​sudo systemctl status fake2.service​. After the command status​, I received a read-out. There was no error message. I then used the command stop. I rebooted and then ran the command status​ again. It read another item of read-outs. That is all. I think I got this one figured out. The systemd system is what I am using. I did not try the SysVinit system.

  • Posts: 1,276
    edited May 2017

    Hi,

    Ok, no problem. Just be sure to get information about the error. If you are having errors like 'could not resolve host (my host name)', you need to check the system hostname and see if it's working.

    Regards,

    Luis.

  • Posts: 29

    Hello...I am having an error that states "could not resolve host" and it does not do anything but state that error. I can still update and upgrade for security patches and things of that nature.

     

  • Posts: 1,276
    edited May 2017

    Hi,

    What happens if you execute the 'hostname' command?

    Thanks,

    Luis.

  • Posts: 29
    edited May 2017

    Hello...it prints out my hostname.

     

  • Posts: 1,276
    edited May 2017

    Hello,

    1) Do 'journalctl -f' in a terminal, while in another run the systemd command. Provide the journalctl ouput.

    2) Please provide a screenshot with the error when running the systemd command.

    Thanks,

    Luis.

     

  • Posts: 29
    edited May 2017

    Hello...I cannot post a screenshot for some reason. The picture addition icon will only let me post hyperlinks. 

  • Posts: 29
    edited May 2017

  • Posts: 1,276
    edited June 2017

    Hello,

    You can use https://snag.gy or any other application to upload and share the image.

    Thanks,

    Luis.

  • Posts: 29
    edited June 2017

    I am starting from scratch. I will keep you updated if I come across another issue. 

  • Posts: 1,276
    edited June 2017

    Ok, no problem. If you have any issue and you need help, please be sure to provide evidence of it.

    Luis.

Welcome!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.
Sign In

Welcome!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.
Sign In

Categories

Upcoming Training