Comments

• RickSMO
    RickSMO Posts: 123
    In the very begining, ubuntu.
  • mfillpot
    mfillpot Posts: 2,177
    RickSMO wrote:
    In the very begining, ubuntu.

In that case I has two different classifications, the true stability is when you use ubuntu as an end user and try not to modify anything to low level. However if you are a perfectionist like myself, always modifying the core configuration files, you will quickly find that the automatic tools and scripts can overwrite or conflict with your modifications, which can cause soem nice problems that are hard to resolve.

In addition Ubuntu tends to use more beta level software such as grub2, which can cause some issues if they do not configure them perfectly or if an update blocks backward compatibility. But in the end ubuntu is has proven more stable than Fedora or openSUSE for me.
  • RickSMO
    RickSMO Posts: 123
    Interesting, thank you for clarifying.
  • kcwong13
    kcwong13 Posts: 1
    I'm quite new in Linux OS, so far 3 type of Linux I've experienced -- Fedora, Ubuntu and Debian. After tested both 3 type of OS, I'm decided stick with Fedora. I'm think Fedora consider quite user friendly Linux Distro, graphical base installation and the best part will be yum, yum is very easy to use tool set which allow me install, uninstall and update any software that I'm needed. The only problem for me will be the graphic card driver, by using nvidia graphic card, I've to separately install the driver after the first boot, but frankly, i love Fedora so much.... :cheer:
  • I figure I'll quit lurking and start posting.

Post #1!

I switched to Linux from Windows, and God forbid I ever go back. I only use it when absolutely necessary.
    I really like Ubuntu and their mission statement. I've had no issues whatsoever with Ubuntu.

Ubuntu is very stable, and fast. For me that's the biggest thing. I like a simple and responsive OS.
    The software center is great, it's saved me headache thus far.