Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

help with selecting a distribution

I am new to the forum and I need some advice on which distro to select. I am a legal professional and amateur programmer. in order to save money on legal software, I designed my own using Visual Basic and Visual Basic for Applications. In particular, I have used VBA to integrate Access, Word, and Outlook, so I have a lot of code I will need to duplicate in a Linux environment. I am tired of Windows, and I am tired of updating my other software applications every time Microsoft puts out a new version. I want to switch to Linux for the affordability and the flexibility. I absolutely rely on Dragon Naturally Speaking as well as Adobe Acrobat in my practice. If there are no Linux based versions of these applications, or other voice transcription, pdf applications for Linux that will give me the same functionality, I will probably not be able to make the switch. Any thoughts on which distro I should use or which apps would give me the same functionality in a Linux environment?

Comments

• mfillpot
    mfillpot Posts: 2,177
    vba cannot be ported to Linux, so unless you want to learn shell scripting and many new applications you might be better off staying with windows.

There are pdf authoring applications and nearly every distro has a print to pdf feature that will allow you to make pdf documents from any application. But in partifular for your legal documents i recommend looking into LaTeX as a solution to create professional pdf files.
  • RickSMO
    RickSMO Posts: 123
    I'd recommend putting Linux on a extra system or dual booting one system to allow you to get used to linux and see what you can get to work for you and what obstacles you may or may not have. That way it's a easy transition without going "all in".

Distributions i'd recommend Ubuntu or Fedora, why? Because it's what I like, and most people are using one or the other in one shape or another.