Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Considering a netbook, then installing ubuntu.

RickSMO
RickSMO Posts: 123

So, end of july I will have a spare 500 dollars, as a college student I am needing a netbook or laptop for class so I can take legible notes in a timely manner (due to my fast typing speed). Anyway, so I am considering a netbook, possibly laptop.

Considering also, purchasing the netbook, then installing ubuntu.

Here is what I'm thinking, a netbook with 1.5 ghz dual core Intel Atom 550 processor, with 1 or 2 GB of DDR 3 RAM, and atleast 250 GB of hard drive space (5400 RPM most likely) Built in webcam/mic, wifi, etc.. (External USB 2/3 DVD/RW) This system, I can get from ASUS(good brand) for only about $287 USD brand new.

So here are my thoughts, a system like this is nice for browsing the internet, which is its main purpose, however if I install Ubuntu and get rid of windows, this system could be, for the most part, a fully functional, pretty fast(or a lot faster then with windows) and a damn good deal for what I would pay for a full blown laptop(which I dont really need).

My main concern, is I am wondering if I would run into chip set issues on the linux operating system, on a netbook that came with windows origonally. If I can get past this one hurdle, I am golden.

Would appreciate everyones thoughts on this plan.

Comments

• mfillpot
    mfillpot Posts: 2,177
    The biggest things to look for on a new machine would be the wireless chipset and video card.
    For wireless cards I prefer intel and atheros chipsets on laptops, realtek and broadcom can still be a pain.
    As for the video card Nvidia and Intel cards work awesome, ATI support can be troublesome.
  • RickSMO
    Cool i'll watch out for it, although I've had the opposite issues until recently with ATI RADEON, its been the least troublesome and nvidia has been the one with issues. Ofcourse that was with windows, which is a issue on its own, lol.
  • ben
    ben Posts: 134