Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Learning linux severs: Red Hat or Centos ?

Hi there, I have a question, please. I'm new to linux and I'm learning with unix academy training DVDs. The training comes bundled with many Linux distros, and I initially installed and been using Ubuntu for my lessons (it was a random choice). I do have IT experience, but not with Linux (databases, app servers, win admin). I know that Red Hat is most widely used, when it comes to large scale enterprise installations.

Now I'm stuck in a confusion: is CentOS really the same as Red Hat, and could it be used for training for Red Hat? Are these two absolutely identical?

Comments

• atreyu
    atreyu Posts: 216
    The short answer is "yes". My understanding of CentOS is, they ripped out everything proprietary from Red Hat (logos, etc.) and rebuilt the packages from the source RPMS (that Red Hat is obliged to provide).

I can tell you that I support Red Hat EL servers at my work and we use CentOS all the time for our development servers and workstations, when we can get away with it (i.e. when customer does not require RHEL) b/c we have never once run into an issue using it instead of RHEL. For example, every piece of code that we write (and package as an RPM) we can install onto a CentOS box and it works perfectly. Similarly, we can take any package that was built for a RHEL system (either binary or rebuilt from SRPM, if we feel like doing the extra work - but usually is not necessary) and install it on CentOS again, with no compatibility problems whatsoever.

Plus, it is a great way to have a RHEL server at home for you to play with, and not have to worry about the license.

-bill
  • anand44
    anand44 Posts: 11
    atreyu wrote:
    The short answer is "yes". My understanding of CentOS is, they ripped out everything proprietary from Red Hat (logos, etc.) and rebuilt the packages from the source RPMS (that Red Hat is obliged to provide).