Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Iam new to Linux and have a few questions.

Options

Hello all, I am new to linux and I have a few questions.

1.How do I download linux to my pc or CD-R disc? I have looked everywhereon Linux.com and am unable to find the place to actually downlod Linux.

2.What are the main differences between Linux and the OS I am using now Windows Vista?

3.I have seen many different versions of Linux. Which should I download? I am looking for the type of Linux that is closest to the Windows Vista that I am using and that is the easiest to understand and use.

4.I have Trend Micro Internet explorer and Microsoft Office suite 2010 installed on my pc. Are both of those compatable and usable in the Linux OS?

Comments

• Goineasy9
    Goineasy9 Posts: 1,114
    Options
    1) Go to the Directory in the top menu. The first choice is download Linux. Although, one does not just download Linux, one downloads a distribution of Linux, depending on what your computer is used for, the hardware it contains and what your particular needs are. For new users I usually recommend the Linux Mint distribution, because, it is the one that is easiest to set up, in my opinion. Usually we recommend downloading a Live CD, so you can experience using Linux before doing an install. Almost every distribution offers a Live CD, or, a Live USB in case your using a netbook or other type of computer that does not have a CD player attached.
    2) There are many differences between Linux and Windows Vista. The most valuable difference is the freedom to use, share and modify it to your own specifications. You can't do that with Windows, it is closed, Linux is Open. If you would like to understand what Linux is about, a short video from our 20th Anniversary tells the story pretty well. Watch here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5ocq6_3-nEw