Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Linux Worries

Hello,

I am completely new to the world of Linux. I have heard about it, but never really expressed interest into it until now. I am thinking of switching from my current OS (windows 7 (64)) to a linux based one. However, I am currently a student and am worried about being able to run programs such as AutoCad '11 Electrical and Multisim. Would installing Linux hinder my ability to run these types of programs on my computer?

Also, I do have some minimal experience in using a unix interface for some C programming. Would installing Linux require a lot of technical knowledge? If so are there any reputable tutorials that i can use to perhaps get me started?

Comments

• mfillpot
    mfillpot Posts: 2,177
    Due to autocad and other windows based apps that you rely on I recommend looking into making your system dual boot a linux distro and windows, that way you can choose which to use on boot. Then when you are more comfortable and find ways to make those apps run in Linux or find comparable apps you can fully migrate.

Modern Linux based distros are getting very user friendly like windows or MAc, I recommend starting with Linux Mint because it is new user friendly but allows control, then you can learn the technical parts when you are ready.
  • jabirali
    jabirali Posts: 157
    I agree with mfillpots sentiments on this. You don't need any previous experience with Linux/Unix systems to install a distribution like Mint or Ubuntu. Although there exists a Windows emulation layer for Linux called Wine, many applications don't work that well with it - so the safe alternative is to install Linux alongside Windows, so that both operative systems are available on your computer.

Note that many applications, e.g. Matlab, Maple and Simulink, also have native Linux versions available; you might try checking out the web pages of the applications you require to see if any of them run natively.
  • mode
    mode Posts: 2