Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Switching Over

Hello,

New to the system -> have not gotten through all FAQs yet.

I am buying new netbook. Am really interested in dropping win7starter and running Linux.

My question is about switching everything I currently do on my desktop (WIN XP 32) and doing the tasks on Linux (on my netbook first). I am an engineering student and will use netbook for school mostly. Netbook new -1.66Gz Dual Core with 2 Gb RAM (10.1").

Running MATLab

Running Power Point

Online radio

Watching DVD's

Sharing media with my friends

Connecting devices - (I have a blue tooth USB headset)

Running Rosetta Stone

Possibly running Ableton Live 8

Connecting to my desktop to exchange files

What are some issues I can expect in the switch? I have been intereseted in Linux for a while now. I would like to get into it as there seems to have major functional advantages over Windows - like less required memory for simple tasks. If everything is smooth on Netbook I will likely install Linux on my desktop.

Thanks,

J

J

Comments

• mfillpot
    mfillpot Posts: 2,177
    Jonny10 wrote:
    Netbook new -1.66Gz Dual Core with 2 Gb RAM (10.1").
    The hardware will be more than sufficient.
    Jonny10 wrote:
    Running MATLab
    Matlab can run through the wine emulator, but some version have experienced issues, you can find details at http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.php?sClass=application&iId=49

Jonny10 wrote:
    Running Power Point

You can install ms Office via an emulator like wine or use a native Linux based office suite such as koffice, openoffice or libreoffice to edit and create presentation files that are compatible with ms powerpoint.

Jonny10 wrote:
    Online radio

It depends on the method of transmission you can listen to any flash based radio stations or capture auto streams through vlc

Jonny10 wrote:
    Watching DVD's