Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Learning Linux and Linux careers

Hi everyone,

I'm new. I know very little about Linux but I'm actually here to ask some questions for a friend. She's seeking a dramatic career change and wants to start learning Linux (she has no programming experience). She abandoned Windows during the dark ages of IE6 and has been using Linux since. Originally just for the sake of having a functional OS she's now interested in potentially going more into Linux and I'm trying to do research to understand what career opportunities are out there, Linux related.

I'm a front-end developer myself (html, css, js, etc). As far as I can tell Linux is often dealt with in terms of server management. Can anyone shed some more light on the subject? Thanks in advance.

Comments

• saqman2060
    saqman2060 Posts: 777
    Before we start, what does your friend want to do in her new career using linux? Linux is involved in many areas of IT. It depends on what you want it to do.
  • saqman2060 wrote:
    Before we start, what does your friend want to do in her new career using linux? Linux is involved in many areas of IT. It depends on what you want it to do.

Neither of us really know enough to say. That's really what i'm trying to find out. What kinds of careers or areas in IT are there regarding Linux?
  • saqman2060
    saqman2060 Posts: 777
    To give a brief summary, they are programming careers for those who are experience using c++, python, perl and ruby. There is web development, linux administration, network administration, system security, project management (linux projects) which is top of the food chain, and server administration. Pretty much, linux can work with anything in IT. App development and system administration(regarding thin clients) are the big ones.
  • mfillpot
    mfillpot Posts: 2,177