Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

install freeze's from boot

I'm very new to linux..... I tested Zorin OS 4 on my desktop and installed the OS to my EHD and it worked great i loved the program durning the test period and decided to install it to my laptop as my new OS.

Heres my system specs:

Compaq presario 2100

Celeron 1.99ghz

512 ram

40 G HDD

Not sure about the GPU what ever is standard....

Heres the list of problems I've had...

when i goto boot from my disk drive i get the boot menu were it says "boot live" and ect when i goto hit enter or scroll down the computer freeze's. when i allow it to just "time out" and select the current selection it stops at "1" and freezes. i know the disk is good because i installed it on my desktop EHD

Also when i tried to use "Dban" the program also froze, thinking it was a problem with my laptop or the software i tried to use the windows system disks that i got if i wanted to reformate the HDD and it worked just fine.

I also tried installing Ubuntu OS and the same thing happened, i actually get a purple screen with a small keyboard = (picture of a "stick figure".) both were a picture, it also froze.

I could really use your help with this as im really wanting to install Zorin or ubuntu on my laptop as im tired of windows xp and tired of all the problems associated with it....

thanks

Milhouse

Comments

• ben
    ben Posts: 134
    Try to boot with a LiveCD on your laptop, I've just made a fresh install with Debian 6 and I may help you with it, give me some time if you want to try with something else.
    Basically the idea is to understand what piece of hw causes the problem, I guess you may apply this hint to everything else.