Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

KlamAV, Real or not???

I wasn't able to copy and paste the list for some reason from KlamAV but then again I am new to linux, I had a good handful, maybe 10 different file that was heuristics something something that klamav popped up with. Are these real viruses? Do you need more information to tell me if they are? Let me know.

Comments

• mfillpot
    mfillpot Posts: 2,177
    You can check the list of identified viri on symantec's website (http://www.symantec.com/security_response/threatexplorer/azlisting.jsp) to determine what kind of virus they are and what they do. Most likely clamav detected windows based viri, which cann't effect you linux based system but should be cleaned to eliminate the potential of spreading those viri to windows based hosts.
  • RickSMO
    RickSMO Posts: 123
    they weren't in any windows directories only linux ones, i'll check the website tho. How do I copy and paste the list?
  • mfillpot
    It doesn't matter which directories they were in. A windows based viri can be downloaded onto a Linux machine, but it cannot execute on a Linux machine, they are treated as normal files until they are opened on a windows based machine.

As for copy and past and I unfamiliar with the GUI you are using so I cannot guide you, most likely the program has an option to output a cleartext log of detected infections that you could copy and paste from.
  • While most of the people who have responded here are mostly right, there is one thing people are neglecting.

Yes, it is true that a Windows virus cannot do much, if any, damage to a Linux install. However, these virii can still run if you execute it through Wine. There's no harm in it, though, since Wine is just a Windows emulator, I just thought it should be addressed that there is an exception to the "exe files can't be run on Linux".
  • RickSMO