Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

I want to use a Linux OS on old pc

Hello,

I am new to Linux OS but was in a conversation with an employee at a local computer store and I mentioned that I would like to use an older pc currently running Win XP as a network storage pc. He mentioned that a Linux OS would be better suited for that purpose. Is that true? If so, what system should I use?

my goal is to convert that older desktop into network storage. That will be the only use for it, well, with the exception that if I put a Linux OS on it, I may play with it to learn Linux.

I would like to designate the partitions for my wife and I. Plus, I'd like to have each partition show up as a "Save as" option on our laptops. Can I do that with Linux and what would you suggest?

Thanks,

Don

Comments

• Unfortunately, I have to run to class right now so really quickly I'll suggest an OS and hopefully someone will be able to give you some good information on how to set all that up.

Long story short: Yes, it's definitely possible to use an older PC as a server in your household to host all of your files. If you want to learn linux on top of using it as a server, you'll probably want to use a Desktop version of Ubuntu - Xubuntu might be a good bet to lower system resources. Generally, I would recommend the server version of a distro, or a disto like arch linux, but with you being new Xubuntu or Ubuntu will really help you learn the basics and let you do everything you need to do.