Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

N00b needs help

I'm a total noob and know vertualy nuthing about linux and was wondering what version would be most useful with programs that generly require windows OS?

Comments

• Goineasy9
    Goineasy9 Posts: 1,114
    First of all Linux is not Windows. Programs that are made to run under windows don't run under Linux, unless, there is a Linux compatible version, or, those Windows programs can be run under a Windows emulator called Wine.
    If your new to Linux, the first thing you need to tell us is what you generally use your computer for. This is important, because, there are alternatives to Windows programs, that work just as well as their Windows counterparts, but are free and available in most Distributions repositories.
    What Windows programs are you using now? We can tell you what the alternatives are, or, we can point you in the right direction.
    What kind of hardware would you be installing Linux on? We can point you to some of the best distros to use for that hardware.

Give us some more info, and we'll be happy to help.
  • Generally I use my computer for music games browsing the web and keeping my budget in order eventually i'll be needing it for school whenever i try college again. To be honest I don't think i really use any windows programs but i do use a music program called winamp and another called dm secretary for my dungeons and dragons game I know they wont run on open suse; as for my hardware i'm not sure it is a rebuild and I don't know what is in the computer the gentleman that sold it to me never told me I just kinda did what i'm doing now he asked what i was gonna use it for and put it together for me.
  • Goineasy9