Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Extended desktop

Hi

I am totally new to Linux and have tried CD versions of Knoppix, Ubuntu and Linux Mint. This is a result of being sick and tired of multiple problems with Vista and having to spend more time fixing issues than working productively.

Anyway my problem is that I would love to get rid of MS Vista completely and use Linux Mint but I use my Lenovo 3000N100 laptop with an external monitor plugged in to it, and also another external monitor plugged in to a USB via a Targus Port Replicator. This enables me to have three screens running as an extended desktop, one screen on the left the other on the right. I need this set up for the type of work I do.

So far trialling Linux Mint, Ubuntu and Knoppix off a CD I just cannot create an extended desktop, if I try to do this I get resolution problems and my USB doesn't work at all. Knoppis does not have any option to have an extended desktop that I can see.

I expect it may be because I am using the CD rather than installing Linux but if I can't get my extended desktop working then I cannot really move away from Windows. I am sure there is a workaround but I can't find any information. Not being too technical I have to find an explanation in plain English.

Does anyone have any ideas of how I can achieve this?

Comments

• Goineasy9
    Goineasy9 Posts: 1,114
    You're problems with the monitors are more a problem with video drivers and not with the operating system. Vista will automatically install proprietary drivers, most Linux distros won't, you have to choose and install it yourself.

Maybe you could tell us what brand (Nvidia, ATI, Intel) you have in the Lenovo laptop. The model number of the video card would also be a help (In regards to Nvidia & ATI). With that info we may be able to point you to the correct drivers.

I don't think that the basic vesa drivers that are included on Live CD's will allow the external monitor setup that your looking for.