Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

What should i do?

hello everybody in linux.com

I have a problem and i think i can find my answer here.I passed the LPIC1 course and now now i am studying linux from LPI book.My problem is that i want to put in practice all things that i am learning or i learnt but i don't know how should i do that?please help me and tell how i can work with linux practically?MY teacher gave me some advises that they were very good but i want more than that.Any help is much appreciated, thanks!

Comments

• mfillpot
    mfillpot Posts: 2,177
    The contents of LPI are more geared towards redhat and fedora distributions, I recommend installing fedora on a system and starting to run through your chosen tasks.

If you have specific tasks in mind, please let us know and we can guide you.
  • I did these work.I installed ubuntu and fedora and ran my tasks through them but i want to become expert in securtiy and i think these works are not enough.I want some projects that focuse on security and commands that related to them.
  • First you must outline what parts of security you want to learn. If you want to learn on espects of security, then gather any books related to linux security, network security and TCP/IP security.. Start from the basics and work your way to the most advanced security configurations. Be creative, pretend you are a hacker and try to break your system. Makes notes on what you can hack and how you are able to do it. There are some linux distros that specialize in penetration testing, try this site, http://www.linux.com/directory/Distributions/Security-Enhanced. Look into, "Damn Vulnerable Linux". The best way to master security is to find loop holes everything. We can also give you projects if you like?
  • saqman2060 wrote: