Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

linux 2010 and ubuntu 10.4 on the same computer

Hi forum

I am very new to linux and have been experimenting with various distros

I have ubuntu 10.4 As my main os but have just loaded linux 2010 side by side

with ubuntu however 2010 will not load from the boot menu what may have gone wrong

:(

thanks in advance for any help or ideas you can give me

Comments

• Goineasy9
    Goineasy9 Posts: 1,114
    OK, you're going to have to help us out a bit. Linux 2010 is not a distro, could you take another look and see what it is you installed? Could it be Mandriva Spring 2010?
  • Hi karma

the disc title is PClinuxOs 2010 from linux magazine137 november
  • Goineasy9
    Goineasy9 Posts: 1,114
    My guess is that the grub menu wasn't set up correctly when you installed PCLinuxOS. I don't have a copy of PCLinuxOS running at the moment, do you know where your grub and menu.lst files are. If you do, I would be interested to see what it contains, you can post it here. First I'm looking for menu.lst it may be called menu.list in some distros. Let me know how you make out.
  • Hi karma

the only information I can find are some of the messages shown after the boot for linux 2010
    has failed

Please append a correct "root="option

here are available partition options

Kernel panic not syncing

ufs unable to mount root ts on unknown block

swapper not tainted 2.6.33.5pc losl.bfs#1:

:ohmy: :

Double Dutch to me hope it means something to you

Cheers
  • mfillpot
    mfillpot Posts: 2,177
    That means that the bootloader is unable to find a valid root partition in the location listed in your bootloader configuration file.

Now you are saying that the pclinuxos installation is not booting correctly, generally when a new installation is done it will overwrite the prior installations bootloader with the new one, which means that ideally pclinuxos should have overwritten ubuntu's bootloader with it's own.