Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Ralink RT3070 not responding

Hi everybody: Newbie here with first question. I have been reading for the past 2 days trying to configure Ralink RT3070 USB\ wireless card with not much success. I am using SliTaz downloaded image in a Dell D610 Laptop after it crashed with WinXP a few days ago. The system recognizes the wireless using Hardware detection and drivers, but this is the info

retrieved:

Detected USB devices Kernel modules

=================================

802.11 n WLAN

sh: rt3070sta-firmware: unknown operand

! Missing module: rt2870sta

rt3070sta

sed: unmatched ' / '

Forgot to indicate that the Laptop has a PCI wireless card (Broadcom chip) that i assume is active.

Any help given on this matter will be deeply appreciated. Thanks

Comments

• mfillpot
    mfillpot Posts: 2,177
    What command or commands yielded the output that you displayed?
  • Goineasy9
    Goineasy9 Posts: 1,114
    Maybe the OP is trying to set up a plug-in USB wireless card before disabling the pci broadcom card. Maybe giving us the output of:
    lspci | grep -i broad
    and
    lsusb | grep 802

might give us a better idea of what your working with.
  • Hi: Just went to System Tools, Hardware Detection and Drivers, entered root password and hit Discover PCI/USB Devices.

Thanks
  • Hi: at lspci | grep -i broad command I get ""02 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corp. Netxtreme BCM 5751 PCI Express
    03: Network controlle: Broadcom corp. BCM4318 (airforce One) Wireless Lan Controller 54g

There is no doubt that I need to disable the PCI adapter. Tried to do it with some guidance on the web without success.
    Thanks
  • Goineasy9
    Goineasy9 Posts: 1,114
    Both my Dell laptops have physical on/off switches, your's is a bit old, but, if not a switch, maybe an enable/disable in bios? I'll see what I can come up with and post back.
  • mfillpot