Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

a different kind of security

Options

i am brand new to all this unix/linux stuff and i will be the first to admit that i do not understand one bit of it. I am a carpenter by trade (currently laid off) so this is a different field for me. my question to you as a programmer/developer is the following: Is it possible to run a linux os from a cd/dvd on a windows xp or later based pc and use that linux os to basically scan and fix problems with the windows based computer? i guess kind of like running windows in safe mode. if i had a bunch of viruses or whatever on a windows based pc and i wanted to go through and clean it up, could i do that through a linux os? how would i? what version of linux would best be suited for it? i'm curious about this because i have been trying to help a friend out for the past 2 weeks with his computers. he's got about 15 pc's that were running windows xp sp1. they are now upgraded to sp3 but most of them have serious issues with viruses and such. i want to be able to run the computer and try to figure out what is going on with it so it will be somewhat secure for him. i do appreciate your consideration, time, and responses.

Comments

• marc
    marc Posts: 647
    Options
    Sure you can do that: with a LiveCD.

What is a LiveCD? Basically is a Linux operatings system running from your cd/dvd drive without the need of a hard disk. It will be obviously slower than having it installed on a hard drive although it works exactly as if it was.

From there, you can access your hard drives/usb-sticks/whatever you want and even run antivirus software on them(Avast seems to be a popular one).

I'm no expert at cleaning viruses so I can't recommend you any linux distribution but you can have a look on google to help you out ;)

Regards

PS: You can contact me if you need more detailed help ;)
  • rj98942
    rj98942 Posts: 11
    Options