Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Best distro to use as LAMP server

Options

Hello all, I am new here and have a question.

I have been playing with linux for a few years now and it's time to take it to the next level.

I am a web developer and currently host a few sites on an old Win 2k box using a IIS and a combination of ColdFusion/Access and PHP/mySql. The server is failing and I am trying to convert my ColdFusion sites to PHP and need to set up a LAMP server to take over for the Win 2k box. I have had a Kubuntu server running for the last year and a half doing mainly samba chores and I used my personal web space for some back end development. I was foolish enough to accept their 10.4 upgrade last week and it has never workes since. I get no responses in their forum either. I tried installing Suse 11.2 on another computer because their Yast application seemed to fit the bill as I know very little about .conf files and I need a GUI for server administration.

Having the Suse box all set up finally I find it will not work hosting pre-existing code and even when I try wriiting new code it won't do standard stuff. For example I made a static copy of a dynamic page by viewing source and pasting it into a new index file on the suse box. It refuses to display any of the images in the style sheet. All files ore on the server and I am using relative paths to the images. Pretty standard stuff. It works from the Win 22k Box, it works (or used to) from the Kubuntu box, why it even works from my commercial web host but I can't get it to work on Suse.

Is there a linux distro out there that works and works consistently? The biggest problem I have had with suse and kubuntu is you can install it over and over exactly the same way and each time it behaves differently.

I was considering trying fedora core again (last time I used it was 6.0) but I thought I would ask here first. All I want is a Samba / LAMP server that works and I can manage it from a GUI.

Comments