Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Linux Game Development

Options

I enjoy developing games, and would enjoy it more if more people would take interest in developing games for Linux. Yeah sure, I know there are quite a few games for Linux, but most of them are Quake3 Arena clones... made with the Quake3 Arena engine. I few months back I launched a community site for Linux game devs and the response was horrible, in the matter of +/- 5 months time the site managed to get 10 registered members. And I did my bit to "market" it.

The point is - It doesn't look like people are taking any interest in this at all. I'm not a pro in Linux game development, but not even the experienced folks took a look at it to help add more content (is this some kind of dark art???). Currently I'm seriously considering to shut the site down, which I tried to get up and running to benefit the Linux community.

Sorry for the rant, but Linux needs more high quality games... The kind that'll get more people to switch over to Linux, and for many others like myself - stop dual-booting.

Comments

• mfillpot
    mfillpot Posts: 2,177
    Options
    I have always been interested in learning about game development and so has my son. but I have not had the written resources to get very far. I will check out your site tonight to see what I can learn and potentially see if I can recommend anything that will help to attrack more potential devleopers.

Thank you for posting here.
  • mfillpot
    Options
    I would also like to recommend that you add Slackware to your list of distributions, the default install of Slackware has many development packages and only uses the original libraries and apps, so you start with the apps and libraries as the author intended. In addition some distributions (not Slackware) choose to modify apps and libraries to their own needs prior to compiling them, so you can also run into some compatibility issues because of those modifications.