Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Update ManagerPackage Manager problem please help!

I'll start off by saying I'm rather new to linux.

So I encounter this error while trying to update and cannot get past it, tried some things from doing research but nothing has worked. I can't do a bunch of the terminal commands because somehow im not the 'owner.' Which makes no sense to me considering this is the only account on here.

Ubuntu 9.10 32bit here is the message I get when trying to run the Update Manager:

"

Could not initialize the package information

An unresolvable problem occurred while initializing the package information.

Please report this bug against the 'update-manager' package and include the following error message:

'E:Problem parsing dependency Depends, E:Error occurred while processing vlc-nox (NewVersion1), E:Problem with MergeList /var/lib/apt/lists/us.archive.ubuntu.com_ubuntu_dists_karmic_universe_binary-i386_Packages, E:The package lists or status file could not be parsed or opened.'"

those stupid smilies^^ are ":" followed by a "P" and not intended

I can't install anything because of this, renders this instillation as useless as windows 98. I found out I can't do anything to the file because of permissions, which I dont have ownership to change the permissions. Maybe im an idiot, i dunno im not ruling that out but this seems WAY more complicated than it needs to be.

If anyone could help me resolve this I would be grateful.

Comments

• vtel57
    vtel57 Posts: 164
    Matt, this could very well be a temporary error with the Ubuntu repository servers. Just give it a day or so and make the attempt again. Let us know what happens, please.

Regards,

~Eric
  • jenveno
    jenveno Posts: 7
    Thank you for the replies. This problem started about a week ago - is it possible the server has been down for that long?

It used to ask for the root password for the update, however it hasn't since this error started.
  • vtel57
    Matt,