Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

how to install pacgen

Hi,

I am a newbie to linux.I am trying to install pacgen to generate that have a programmable time interval between them.

The steps to install pacgen are as follows:

1. Make sure you have Libnet installed, pacgen was written with 1.1.2.1

installed. Goto www.packetfactory.net or somewhere else and get it.

2. Read the README file

3. Compile via the libnet-config script (at least this is how I did it):

gcc `libnet-config --cflags --defines` pacgen.c -o pacgen \

`libnet-config --libs`

But when I type the command ,I get the following error

[sabagour03@sabanyupoly pacgen-1.10]$ gcc `libnet-config --cflags --defines` pacgen.c -o pacgen `libnet-config --libs`

bash: libnet-config: command not found

bash: libnet-config: command not found

/tmp/ccRE2XbO.o: In function `main':

pacgen.c:(.text+0x24): undefined reference to `libnet_init'

pacgen.c:(.text+0x214): undefined reference to `libnet_build_tcp'

pacgen.c:(.text+0x239): undefined reference to `libnet_geterror'

pacgen.c:(.text+0x2c9): undefined reference to `libnet_build_udp'

pacgen.c:(.text+0x2ee): undefined reference to `libnet_geterror'

pacgen.c:(.text+0x3d0): undefined reference to `libnet_build_ipv4'

pacgen.c:(.text+0x3ec): undefined reference to `libnet_geterror'

pacgen.c:(.text+0x450): undefined reference to `libnet_build_ethernet'

pacgen.c:(.text+0x46c): undefined reference to `libnet_geterror'

pacgen.c:(.text+0x4fc): undefined reference to `libnet_write'

pacgen.c:(.text+0x59c): undefined reference to `libnet_destroy'

pacgen.c:(.text+0x5a9): undefined reference to `libnet_destroy'

/tmp/ccRE2XbO.o: In function `load_ip':

pacgen.c:(.text+0xf49): undefined reference to `libnet_name2addr4'

pacgen.c:(.text+0xf6d): undefined reference to `libnet_name2addr4'

collect2: ld returned 1 exit status