Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Ubuntu Vs. Ubuntu for Netbooks

I am new to the Linux world. I have a netbook I would like to run Ubuntu on, but I cannot find any info on what is included as far as WIFI and Broadband items (i.e. drivers, etc.) Does Ubuntu and/or the netbook version come with the capability to run my WIFI and broadband in my netbook, or will I have to download the drivers separately?

Thanks in advance

Andy

Comments

• mfillpot
    mfillpot Posts: 2,177
    Ubuntu and ubuntu netbook remix both refer to the same repos for packages which include drivers, if the driver is supported in one then it will be supported by both.

Most wifi chipsets work on ubuntu without issues but a few have issues or do not work at all. Have you tried searching good for your netbook model information and the word s ubuntu and wifi to see if others have has problems?
  • Goineasy9
    Goineasy9 Posts: 1,114
    And there's always the Live CD's. If you aren't able to find the info you're looking for, just download a Live CD and test it on your netbook. A broad range of drivers are included on the Live CD's and if your driver is not included, you can use the setup option to see if it's included in the repos. You can even download it into the live session and see if it works before installing the distro to the hard drive. BTW- since many netbooks don't have a cdrom drive, that same LiveCD can be transferred to a USB stick and booted from there.
  • MikeEnIke
    MikeEnIke Posts: 88
    Goineasy9 wrote: