Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Linux for a Graphic Designer?

hello im new to linux but a friend talks wonders about it (particulary ubuntu)

i want to give a try but i do not know if there are programs fo design (like photoshop, illustrator, indesign etc...) or if they are compatible with mac and windows

also i want to try ubuntu unless there is a better option for a designer

thank for your time:laugh:

Comments

• MikeEnIke
    MikeEnIke Posts: 88
    There is a program in Linux called GIMP that mirrors Photoshop functionality. It's the best alternative to photoshop there is on linux. Personally I dualboot almost solely to use photoshop because I just can't get the hang of GIMP, but I'm sure I would be good with GIMP if it's where I started.

I've heard that Photoshop CS2 and CS4 will run under Wine in linux, so that may be your best chance.

If you're set on using photoshop, dual boot or use Wine. If you are just trying to get into to photomanipulation or don't mind learning something new GIMP comes pre-installed on Ubuntu and is a great program.
  • Goineasy9
    Goineasy9 Posts: 1,114
    Gimp, Inkscape and Blender are three programs you should look at, all/some are replacements for what you have used.
  • gomer
    gomer Posts: 158
    open office draw isn't bad, either, for desktop publishing.

the GIMP really does do just about everything photoshop does, and it offers features that photoshop doesn't. The learning curve on the gimp will probably be comparable to that on photo shop, too. Several books have been published about the GIMP, one in particular by APress is pretty good. And there is tons of help out there on the web, too.
  • thanks to all of you, initialy i have doubts but i will take your advices
  • mfillpot
    mfillpot Posts: 2,177