Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

CPU overheating Toshiba Satelite L300-1AQ

Zohair
Zohair Posts: 2

Guys,

I installed Ubuntu (Ubuntu 9.10 - the Karmic Koala) on my laptop (Dual boot with Vista) When I boot in Ubuntu and after few minutes the temperature goes very high starting from 35 to 45 up to 72 within 15 minutes. The problem doesn't exist in Windows Vista. Can anybody help me with the issue please?? I'm new to linux so if you decided to help me please make it as simple as possible.

Cheers,

Zohair

Comments

• gomer
    gomer Posts: 158
    You need the omnibook kernel module to control your fan.

try this:
    svn co https://omnibook.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/omnibook omnibook
    cd omnibook
    make
    sudo make install

sudo depmod -a
    sudo modprobe omnibook ectype=11

sudo cat "omnibook ectype=11">>/etc/modules

• mfillpot
    mfillpot Posts: 2,177
    You also might want to consider adding the "CPU Frequency Scaling Monitor" item to your panel and using that to adjust the scaling governor to tell the system to wind dowsn when it doesn't need full resources, this will help to save power and reduce heat.
  • Zohair
    Zohair Posts: 2
    Dear Adam,

Thanks for your help but the code you provided gave me error:
    This is a part of the terminal screen I got after typing the download link:

A    omnibook/tags/release-20070211/pio.c
    A    omnibook/tags/release-20070211/ec.c
    A    omnibook/tags/release-20070211/compat.h
    A    omnibook/tags/release-20070211/wireless.c
    Checked out revision 293.
    zohair@ubuntu:~$ cd omnibook
    zohair@ubuntu:~/omnibook$ make
    make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found. Stop.
    zohair@ubuntu:~/omnibook$ sudo make install
    make: *** No rule to make target `install'. Stop.
    zohair@ubuntu:~/omnibook$ 

And mfillpot, thanks for your contribution but I found a similar program "KPowerSave" that seems to similar to what you've suggested.