Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Can you recommend a good Documentation site?

Options

I have decent xp with Windows and DOS, as well as moderate hardware knowledge, but am a total noob about Linux. I just wiped my netbook and installed a fresh xubuntu OS to use it to learn linux from. But seeing as how I know NOTHING about linux, I was hoping to find some docs that I could print out and read through that would cover the basics of how to do stuff.

Can anybody point me to a good site for docs? I found a few places that have online "manuals" but nothing that I could print out unless I wanted to print each page one at a time. I was hoping to find something semi-detailed, about 20-30 pages, covering a lot of the basics like what each folder is for; where to put stuff; how to recognize, run and/or install linux-compatible programs; special features; lists of commands and what they do; etc...

Any ideas? Just post a URL if there's something out there already...

Comments

• gomer
    gomer Posts: 158
    Options
    Ubuntu Help:
    http://ubuntuforums.org
    https://help.ubuntu.com

the Linux documentation Project:
    http://tldp.org/

Or, right on your hard drive, look in /usr/share/doc/

;)
  • ePHende
    Options
    Ok, I didn't know about the hard drive file, I'll have to look that up when I get home. But the other three sites are all organized so that you have to go into one "chapter" at a time and can't download the whole thing to print it. It would take me all day.
  • gomer
    Options
    TLDP has all of their HOW-TOs in HTML format in one big tar/gzip file:
    http://www.ibiblio.org/pub/Linux/docs/HOWTO/Linux-HOWTOs.tar.gz

If you didn't like the fact that these were "chapterized" you may not like the contents of /usr/share/doc either, as that's a folder that contains MANY folders filled with documentation for all / most of the packages you currently have installed.

:(