Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Can't start BIND9 | Lab 6.1. Configure Caching DNS

Hi guys,

I'm having a problem when starting BIND9 using sudo systemctl start bind9. I get a random error and when I examine it with sudo systemctl status bind9, I get this:

bind9.service: Failed with result 'exit-code'.
Failed to start BIND Domain Name Server.
bind9.service: Schedule restart job, restart counter is at 20.
Stopped BIND Domain Name Server.
bind9.service: Start request repeated too quickly.

I set DefaultStartLimitIntervalSec and DefaultStartLimitBurst to 40s and 20 respectively on /etc/systemd/system.conf, so I know it's not because the start requests are coming too quickly.

This is what the logs on /var/log/kern.log show but I'm new to Linux so I don't know how to recognize and solve the error based on that:

...apparmor="ALLOWED" operation="open profile="named" name="/proc/cmdline" pid=8226 comm="named" requested_mask="r" denied_mas="r" fsuid=0 ouid=0

...apparmor="ALLOWED" operation="open profile="named" name="/proc/sys/kernel/osrelease" pid=8232 comm="named" requested_mask="r" denied_mas="r" fsuid=0 ouid=0

And this is is my /etc/systemd/system/bind9.service file:

[Unit]
Description=BIND Domain Name Server
Documentation=man:named(8)
After=network.target
Wants=nss-lookup.target
Before=nss-lookup.target

[Service]
Type=forking
EnvironmentFile=-/etc/default/named
ExecStart=/usr/sbin/named $OPTIONS
ExecReload=/usr/sbin/rndc reload
ExecStop=/usr/sbin/rndc stop
Restart=on-failure

[Install]
WantedBy=multi-user.target
Alias=bind9.service

Any help would be very much appreciated!

Thanks!

Best Answers

• lee42x
    lee42x Posts: 380
    edited January 2022 Answer ✓