Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

What distribution will be the best for me?

Hello there!

It is my first message here as you can see. I am writing here because I am looking for a Linux distribution that will be working the best on my computer. I would also like to play Diablo 2 on my PC (that is the one and only game I play)

Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 240 Processor 2.80 GHz 64-bit

Motherboard: ASUS M4A785TD V-EVO integrated with ATI Radeon HD 4200

2 GB RAM

Please consider it, I am new to this OS but if something is really good, I will learn it very fast. Thanks in advance for your opinions.

Comments

• mfillpot
    mfillpot Posts: 2,177
    Your Hardware is good enough to run any distro, so that is not a factor.
    And Diablo2 has been tested to work well using the wine emulator (http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.php?sClass=application&iId=74), wine can be installed on any distro, so again this is not a factor.

So at this point pretty much any distribution would work for your needs. Can you please tell use more about how you use your computer, your experience with Linux and any other factors that you think can help us to point you in the right direction?
  • mfillpot wrote:
    Your Hardware is good enough to run any distro, so that is not a factor.
    And Diablo2 has been tested to work well using the wine emulator (http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.php?sClass=application&iId=74), wine can be installed on any distro, so again this is not a factor.

So at this point pretty much any distribution would work for your needs. Can you please tell use more about how you use your computer, your experience with Linux and any other factors that you think can help us to point you in the right direction?
    Ok, I see. I use my computer to watch TV series/movies, listen to music, play diablo 2 sometimes, communicate with people and to browse the internet, that is all. :) Not sure about my experience with Linux, so I can't tell it.
  • pjpdev