Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Lab 9.3 - Working with CoreDNS - Discussion

deepakgcpdeepakgcp Posts: 10
edited January 3 in LFS258 Class Forum

Got an error like below

I dont get what I did wrong.. :(

Comments

  • deepakgcpdeepakgcp Posts: 10

    It seem like the documentation is wrong..

  • serewiczserewicz Posts: 870

    You named the POD nettool, the container is named ubuntu. Try the command with nettool instead.

    Could be a typo. I'll take a look and fix the material if so.

  • deepakgcpdeepakgcp Posts: 10
    edited January 3

    @serewicz said:
    You named the POD nettool, the container is named ubuntu. Try the command with nettool instead.
    Could be a typo. I'll take a look and fix the material if so.

    Thanks for your response sir. I already tried to login into the pod "nettool" and it worked. But the document needs to be fixed.. everywhere it is mentioned as [email protected] instead of [email protected] (I mean, after login into the pod).

    I wonder why none of students given a feedback about this and completed the lab.

    Thanks again sir.

  • serewiczserewicz Posts: 870

    Thank you!

    I made the pod name more unique, to nettool, and thought I changed the other references. I'll work on getting that out soon.

    Regards,

  • chrispokornichrispokorni Posts: 993

    Hi @deepakgcp,

    You can also examine the error returned by the kubectl CLI. In this case it is very specific, thus helpful, that the "ubuntu" Pod is not found. Since you have access to the YAML manifest of the Pod, it is easy to examine it and extract the name of the Pod that needs to be replaced it in the exec command. You can also use get command to list objects such as Pods by name, or describe to further display objects' details, such as container names whenever needed.

    Regards,
    -Chris

  • nmorellnmorell Posts: 6

    It's a typo in the lab exercises, I just ran across this and knew what the issue was. The name you give the pod in the metadata field is what you use not "ubuntu"

    as defined in the docs:

    kubectl exec -it nettool -- /bin/bash

  • nmorellnmorell Posts: 6
    edited January 21

    I'll note there's other typos in this particular lab, for example the coredns pod does not create a PTR record based on the documentation provided for Lab 9.3, please see the following:

    [email protected]:/# dig -x nginx.test.io
    
    ; <<>> DiG 9.16.1-Ubuntu <<>> -x nginx.test.io
    ;; global options: +cmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 15933
    ;; flags: qr rd ra ad; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 1
    
    ;; OPT PSEUDOSECTION:
    ; EDNS: version: 0, flags:; udp: 4096
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;io.test.nginx.in-addr.arpa.    IN  PTR
    
    ;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    in-addr.arpa.       30  IN  SOA b.in-addr-servers.arpa. nstld.iana.org. 2020122003 1800 900 604800 3600
    
    ;; Query time: 24 msec
    ;; SERVER: 10.96.0.10#53(10.96.0.10)
    ;; WHEN: Thu Jan 21 09:16:44 CST 2021
    ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 139
    
    [email protected]:/# dig nginx.test.io
    
    ; <<>> DiG 9.16.1-Ubuntu <<>> nginx.test.io
    ;; global options: +cmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 151
    ;; flags: qr aa rd; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 1
    ;; WARNING: recursion requested but not available
    
    ;; OPT PSEUDOSECTION:
    ; EDNS: version: 0, flags:; udp: 4096
    ; COOKIE: 6770800cf9fcd86f (echoed)
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;nginx.test.io.         IN  A
    
    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    nginx.default.svc.cluster.local. 30 IN  A   10.100.110.209
    
    ;; Query time: 0 msec
    ;; SERVER: 10.96.0.10#53(10.96.0.10)
    ;; WHEN: Thu Jan 21 09:16:58 CST 2021
    ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 101
    
    $ k get cm -n kube-system coredns -o yaml
    apiVersion: v1
    data:
      Corefile: |
        .:53 {
            rewrite name regex (.*)\.test\.io {1}.default.svc.cluster.local
            errors
    ...
    
  • serewiczserewicz Posts: 870

    Hello,

    Thank you for the additional feedback. A new version of the course will be released soon with updates to the lab.

    Regards,

  • bmarasbmaras Posts: 1

    Hi,

    I just ran into this same issue (pod named "nettool", but "ubuntu" name is still used in the PDF command).
    Has the new version you mentioned be released?

  • chrispokornichrispokorni Posts: 993

    Hi @bmaras,

    When a new course version is released you will automatically have access to it.

    Regards,
    -Chris

Sign In or Register to comment.