Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

question about ls output

ok. so i'm just learning so pardon me please.

i am entering:

ls -aF

which should return everything in my current directury, hidden or not, and whether its a file, directory or symb link. when i do this i tally up the directories then enter in the following

ls -adl

which should return all (hidden or not) directories in a long list format.

PROBLEM IS the numbers of long list dont match up with my tally in ls -aF. as a matter of fact, if there are 16 items in ls -aF, 16 items show up in ls -adl as well, not just the directories.

just wondering why this is.

thanks. hope that made sense.

Comments

• mfillpot
    mfillpot Posts: 2,177
    Good question, if made me research and test to figure out what the -d option does.

The first command ls -aF states to (a) show all files types in the current directory and to (F) append a file type designator.
    The second command ls -adl states to (a) show all file types in the current directory, (d) show only the summary for the current directory and (l) display in list form with file details. This makes the a and d conflict each other, in which the d argument wins.

It appears that you are looking to find the count of directories versus files in your current directory, you can try these commands:
    Directories: ls -aF|grep /|nl (be aware that the . and .. entries will be listed as directories effectively adding 2 to the count)

and you can append the pipe (|) and nl to number the list or you can even append the pipe and "tail -n 1" to see only the last line of the output.
  • so here is a print out of my problematic command followed by your successful command:

ast login: Wed Nov 25 12:30:03 on ttys000
    sgilis-macbook:~ carlos$ ls -aF
    ./ .lesshst Music/
    ../ Desktop/ Pictures/
    .CFUserTextEncoding Documents/ Public/
    .DS_Store Downloads/ Sites/
    .Trash/ Library/
    .bash_history Movies/

sgilis-macbook:~ carlos$ ls -adl