Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Netgear PCMIA network card not recognised

PeterK
PeterK Posts: 4

As a total newbie to linux I decided to install ubuntu on an old Rock Agenda laptop that I used to use with Windows XP. The installation appears to have worked fine but it does not recognise the Netgear WPN511 wireless PCMIA that I need to contact my router. Am I correct to assume that I need to install a linux driver for this card? If so, any ideas where I could find one as I am not getting any response from Netgear. All suggestions would be most welcome. Thanks, Peter

Comments

• PeterK
    Thanks for the suggestion which didn't work for me. In fact even the first command line was rejected as having too few arguments.
  • Goineasy9
    Goineasy9 Posts: 1,114
    I looked a little further, and it seems that the madwifi driver, which is now in the kernel, should work for this wireless card.

Can you show us lsmod | grep ath*

I'm a little rusty, the last laptop I has that had an atheros chip was a few years ago. I think that line will bring up the info we need.
  • PeterK
    Hi
    Thanks for your continued help. Hopefully the following is what you need.

peter@Rock-laptop:~$ lsmod | grep ath*
    cpufreq_stats 7360 0
    freq_table 5792 2 cpufreq_stats,cpufreq_ondemand
    cpufreq_conservative 8200 0
    battery 10756 0
    ath_rate_sample 14080 1
    ath_pci 97312 0
    wlan 204484 4 wlan_scan_sta,ath_rate_sample,ath_pci
    ath_hal 192592 3 ath_rate_sample,ath_pci
    rsrc_nonstatic 14080 1 yenta_socket
    pcmcia_core 40852 3 pcmcia,yenta_socket,rsrc_nonstatic
    ata_generic 9092 0
    libata 125720 1 ata_generic
    scsi_mod 142348 1 libata
    peter@Rock-laptop:~$

Regards, Peter
  • Goineasy9
    Hey Peter
    I can see that ath_hal is in your lsmod, that is needed for your wifi card, but I don't see the ath5k module. Could you try to (as root) "modprobe ath5k" (without quotes) in terminal and see if that helps.