Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Installing on old PC

I am not a total newbie, but would call myself a beginner. I am trying to install Linux (not picky which distro) on an old PC which does have a CD drive but will not boot from it. (Please don't tell me to get a newer PC-I have several already-I'm recycling) I finally found an old Slackware cd and managed to install it from floppy. I use LILO so I can boot dos or Slackware of the HD. My original goal was just to create a RS232 terminal to use in developing code for a microcontroller. (The ucontroller's output is RS232.) Anyway, I would like to install a newer distro, It seems that I should be able to do this since the existing linux can access the CD drive (as can the Slackware bootdisk). Can anybody walk me through this?

Comments

• Goineasy9
    Goineasy9 Posts: 1,114
    Well, one choice for an old pc would be Puppy Linux. Since you can't boot from the CD, I assume you can copy from it, or just download the .iso file right onto the box. OK, using the fromiso option, you can boot Puppy (or actually quite a few other Linux distros) right from the .iso file.

The download page for Puppy is at this link: http://www.puppylinux.com/install.htm (The link also has other installation instructions you may or may not be interested in looking at).

A good link for the instructions on how to setup and boot Puppy fromiso is here:
    http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=8674
    This thread is a few years old, but the instructions still work. Just remember that back then the name of the Puppy iso file was puppy-2.00-seamonkey.iso. If you follow the instructions, just remember to replace that with the name of the new Puppy iso, which is pup-431.iso.

FYI, Puppy Linux loads entirely into RAM, so, it runs fast, even on an old pc.

Hope this helps. If it's not what your looking for, let us know.
  • mfillpot
    mfillpot Posts: 2,177