Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

What can I do with Linux? (The MythTV thread)

Hi!

I am not really a newbie with Linux, but I am lacking inspiration right now. I have an old P4 that is lying in my closet and I am wondering what cool thing I could do with it. I could always install a LAMP server and try to have my own web server, but I would like to do something cooler. My favorite distrib is Debian, but I could always install Ubuntu or Fedora. Or anything you find so awesome that I absolutely have to check it out! ;)

Thanks for your ideas!

Patrick

Comments

• mfillpot
    mfillpot Posts: 2,177
    I would recommed trying out Ubuntu Server edition, it is command line based, but you can easily install a LAMP server, Samba Server, FTP, etc... you can then find ways to implemenet the services on that box throughout your network for backups, a http based streaming music server, firewall, proxy server, Intrustion detection system, honeypot, etc.
  • My old Pentium 4 clocked at 2.6ghz is now my secondary desktop via Linux Mint. I use it for my internet needs and other stuff. Nothing fancy or special.
  • Wow, thanks for your replies guys!

I actually tought about building a media center, but quickly got discouraged by the lack of easy how-to. But I honestly did not search very long since I was at my job while doing the research :blush: Anyway I will definitly look out for that Boxee thing.

A backup server would also be a great idea. My disaster recovery plan right now consists mostly in crying over my dead computer if anything bad happens :P

I also looked into a domotic server, but I feel like the project would be a bit too hard to complete :dry:

Thanks again!

Patrick
  • Goineasy9
    Goineasy9 Posts: 1,114
    If your thinking of a media center, I've been told that MythBuntu is easy to set up and is easily managed.
    http://distrowatch.com/?newsid=05439