Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Lab's settings

Hi,
I'm sorry for this question, but I'm new in these technologies.
I don't understand how setting my lab.
I have Ubuntu 18.04 on VirtualBox an I have installed Minikube to have Kubernetes in local.

What is it wrong in my lab's settings?
Because when I run the script k8sMaster.sh, for lab 2.2, I have some problem, e.g. how in this screenshot (in this momente Minikube is stopped).

Thank you for your patience.
Regards

Comments

• chrispokorni
    chrispokorni Posts: 2,153

Hi,

This course does not call for a Minikube installation. The course explores Kubernetes topics in multi-host environment setup, and that is not something supported by Minikube.

Please follow the Kubernetes installation steps provided in the lab exercise.

Regards,
    -Chris

• Hi, thanks.
    The indications about how to set up the laboratory are not very clearly, at least for me :) .
    Therefore, the k8Master.sh and k8Second.h scripts run the nodes on the same VM, I must have two VM, first for master and secondo for worker or I must have a cloud support?
    I'm sorry for all these questions!

Regards

• chrispokorni

Hi @MariangelaPetraglia,

You are correct, for lab exercises to successfully work, you need two VM instances. These instances can be cloud instances (AWS EC2 instances, GCE VMs, or DigitalOcean droplets, or others) or local VMs on a hypervisor of your choice (VirtualBox, KVM, or VMware).

Keep in mind the instance size for resources: 2 CPUs and 8 GB RAM per instance, with Ubuntu 18.04 LTS. Also, disable all OS firewalls on your instances, and allow all inbound traffic from all sources, all protocols, to all ports at your infrastructure level (the cloud infra or local hypervisor).

Regards,
    -Chris

• Hi @chrispokorni,
    thank you so much for your explained.