Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Lab2 error: Cannot run peer because cannot init crypto, folder does not exist

In the last part of Lab2 when I try to pull the genesis block for the current channel with this command: peer channel fetch oldest allarewelcome.block -c allarewelcome\ --orderer orderer.example.com:7050

I receive the following error: Cannot run peer because cannot init crypto, folder "/etc/hyperledger/msp/users/org1.example.com/mspAdmin@" does not exist

Obiously I did execute the command before, with export CORE_PEER_MSPCONFIGPATH=/etc/hyperledger/msp/users/Admin@​org1.example.com/msp
without any error message.

After searching I find that this could have something to do with setting wrong environment variable, however, no posts explain how I should do it (I am not experienced with setting PATHS).

I have ubuntu 18.04.

Appreaciate any help!

Comments

• Niklaskkkk
    Niklaskkkk Posts: 113

Also, at this point in the Lab the Fabric-CA example is not running (it exited automatically right after network launch). The containers running are:

• peer0
    • peer1
    • orderer
    • cli
  • Hi @Niklaskkkk!

First, particularly I try to avoid copying the commands from the PDF. That helps me memorize and avoid errors. In this case, always remember to avoid the backslash that comes when copying from the document, like the one after "allarewelcome".

In the docker-compose.yaml file we a directory of the machine being mapped into a directory in the Docker image. In this case we have inside the "volumes" section for peer1:

./crypto-config/peerOrganizations/org1.example.com/users:/etc/hyperledger/msp/users

Copying from the PDF showed me that there is a break in the line and I don't know if that has been carried on your docker-compose.yaml file. Just a double check.

When using environment variables I always check if the values are there doing:

echo $CORE_PEER_MSPCONFIGPATH