Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Ex-Vista Noob Needs Help

hi, my 2 yr old vista just quit on me. i had no user account password and only used my admin account and after a system restore, vista decided to create a password for me and i can no longer get in. i just ordered a dell mini with ubuntu i'll recieve in 3 weeks and i was wondering if there is a way an unskilled noob like me could install linux on my pc without deleting the vista until i figure out a way to retrieve my data locked away in vista.

i have zero knowledge of linux so i'll need something thats easy to do.

any suggestions?

thanks

Nuvie

Comments

• Goineasy9
    Goineasy9 Posts: 1,114
    I've installed Fedora 11 as a dual boot on a couple of Vista machines and Fedora created a Windows choice in grub successfully both times. Although I've never tried Ubuntu myself, I hear that it does an equally good job. Maybe some of the others hear on the forum can chime in with their experiences.
    The problem is if you don't have access to Vista, and can't run Disk Cleanup and Disk Defragmenter you might have problems when you shrink the Vista Partition. Just something to keep in mind. An old Vista machine could have files spread all over the hard disk.
    Already this will be non-noob friendly operation. You might need to remove the files first by using a Live Linux CD, mounting the windows partitions, and retrieving the files you want to save before trying to install Linux.
    I'll see if I can find an easy how-to for you and return with a link. Maybe someone else here can help if they know of a link with noob-friendly instructions.

Edit: Link on how to access Vista without a password.
    http://www.ehow.com/how_4701038_access-vista-password.html
    If this works for you, it will make your life much easier.
  • ford
    ford Posts: 24