Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Black Window? Command Prompt?

what do you called the "black window" operating system.. you can manipulate data files by entering codes...

like debian "black window"...

is it X Windows?

i meet some linux users entering the code "startx"..

im using Damn Small Linux (DSL). when i was in DSL GUI.. i go to Terminal then entering some path then "startx" command. it doesn't make the operating system black, but it make the color change.

actually linux brothers and sisters, i hate GUI... i love entering codes.. trace the activities of every users in one network through code and etc. in other words "i love codes"

does anyone can help me? please...

sorry noob here.. thanks in advanced! :)

Comments

• mfillpot
    mfillpot Posts: 2,177
    It sounds like you are wanting to go into the true Command Line Interface and buypass running the Graphical User Interface, the startx command you are citing starts the X11 window system then starts your default GUI. The usualy case to start in a CLI environment is to manipulate your /etc/inittab file defula init level the which eve one is listed as "mulit-user CLI mode". Please post back if you need more information or if my assumption is incorrect.
  • actually you hit the thread in 100%.. can you teach me how to use X11 window?

thanks for the reply, information and for your time..
  • lol, X11 == GUI

the black screen you keen on is called CLI (command line interface). when you are in CLI and type startx command you get the GUI working (if you have installed one).