Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

No audio

I am brand new to Linux, just installed Kubuntu 9.04. The sound works when I start up the computer, but I don't get sound via the browsers.

Also, I just wanted to download a jpg file, received via e-mail. I get error messages, saying the comp does not recognise the file.

I'd appreciate some hints of what to do.

And please allow me to be a bit dumb as a total beginner.

Walter

Comments

• Goineasy9
    Goineasy9 Posts: 1,114
    Welcome to Linux.
    As a beginner you might want to consider telling us a little more info. Like what steps you took to download the .jpg file, and what you did to view the file where you got the error message (and what was the exact error message). Maybe even what email client you were using when trying to download the file.
    As far as no sound in your browser, do you have "flash" installed?
    I don't run Kubuntu, I run Debian sid and Fedora, but I did notice in my travels that regular Ubuntu will aid you with installing flash, while Kubuntu needs to have some manual intervention in order to get it working. In Debian, flash is called flashplugin-nonfree, I assume, in Kubuntu, it has a similar name, if not the same name. Try searching for flashplugin and see if it's installed.
    Maybe a more experienced Kubuntu user could add a post with the exact filename.
  • Thanks. I thought I'd get an e-mail if someone replied, but I didn't. So I see this with delay. I sorted out the download issue, but I have no sound (had before I downloaded flash player). I removed it and reinstalled it, as that was the recommendation posted on other sites. But it does not work either. Kubuntu has a lot of stumbling blocks, just what I hoped to get away from with Windows. I'll try to completely reinstall Kubuntu; if it still does not work properly, I will have to go back to the National Security Agency's favourite operating system.
  • ford
    ford Posts: 24